Vintage Austin: Municipal Auditorium
Photo Credit: Austin Public Library PICA 26945
Opened in 1959, the Municipal Auditorium was considered the pinnacle of modern design. The dome was designed by contemporary artist Seymour Fogel, who was an instructor in the Department of Art and Art History at the University of Texas during that period. In 2008 the auditorium underwent a comprehensive overhaul evolving into the renowned Long Center for the Performing Arts. The Long Center’s Ring Beam, an iconic element from its time as the Municipal Auditorium, stands as one of Austin’s most distinctive landmarks.